This Is My Journey

Dear reader: The majority of what you read here may seem heteronormative. This is not intentional, it’s just a result of my particular life experience. My wife and I are both advocates for, and members of, the LGBTQ+ community; but express in relatively traditional ways. As a passionately involved parent, and as someone who cares deeply about the future of our world, I hope you enjoy my musings.

Dads have come a long way in the last few decades. The days of the ‘working man,’ expected to prioritize making a living over making a life, are fast being left behind. Still, certain stigmas exist. The image of the bumbling Dad, the lovable idiot who can barely change a diaper, is pervasive in our society; and to be honest is an obstacle to Dads being taken seriously as parents. Dads spending time with their children, without the supervision of Mom, are said to be “babysitting.” Moms, on the other hand, are “doing what is expected” of them. At high school sporting events, the Mom of a graduate is given flowers at a game celebrating the grads, while Dad must watch from the sidelines. The way Dads … good Dads … are seen and treated is important to me, because outdated ideas on parenting affect our institutions and very way of life. I wear the title “Dad” with great pride.

This blog is about being a progressive Dad in a world still struggling to define itself. A world that sees Mom as a more legitimate parent. A world that praises Dads for doing what good parents should do. A world in which change is needed if our children are to inherit something worth saving.

My wife and I are parents to two boys. The first is 15 years old. He is biologically mine, but to call my wife a ‘stepmom’ would be a mistake. I believe parents are defined by their actions rather than blood; a position I’ll get to in a later post. She is Mom to him, and a better mother I have never known. Our second is brand new. Born December 26th, 2016, our newest addition is our newest adventure. This is my journey.

Leave a Reply

